Tangail District Information
Tangail subdivision was established in 1870 and was turned into a district in 1969. The district consists of 11 upazilas, 8 municipalities, 72 wards, 211 mahallas, 103 union parishads, 2431 villages.
Area: 3424.39 square kilometers
Bounded by: Jamalpur district on the north, Dhaka and Manikganj districts on the south, Mymensingh and Gazipur districts on the east, Sirajganj district on the west
History: Kagmari Conference (1957), Sannyasi revolt (1850), Peasant revolt (1858). During the Liberation War in 1971 Abdul Kader Siddiqui of Tangail independently led military operations against Pakistan army. His group was named Kaderia Bahini after its leader. This bahini led many successful guerrilla operations in Tangail. Kader Siddiqui himself was wounded at the Makrar battle near Balla village. The most noted successful operation of the Kaderia Bahini was the capture of a Pakistani ship with huge amount of arms and ammunitions at Bhuapur. In 1996, a devastating tornado caused heavy damage to a few villages.
Archeology: Atia Mosque (1608), Sagardighi, Ichamati Dighi, Nagarpur Dighi, Khamarpara Mosque, Dhanbari Mosque (1685).
source - banglapedia