Sunamganj District Information
Sunamganj mahakuma (sub-division) was upgraded to a district in 1984. This district consists of 10 upazilas, 4 municipalities, 36 wards, 139 mahallas, 82 union parishads, 1711 mouzas and 2813 villages.
Area: 3669.58 square kilometers
Bounded by: Khasia and Jaintia hills (India) on the north, Habiganj and Kishoreganj districts on the south, Sylhet district on the east, Netrokona and greater Mymensingh districts on the west
History: Nankar Rebellion of Sukhair in 1922-23 is notable. Many political leaders and activists of Sunamganj were involved in the anti-British movement. The leftist movement spread over the district after the partition of 1947. During the war of liberation many encounters were held between the freedom fighters and the Pak army; Sunamganj was liberated on 6 December 1971.
Archeology: Bagbari Tila (Chhatak upazila), Selbarash Jami Mosque, Sukhair Kalibari Temple, Kahala Kalibari, Maheshkhala Kalibari (Dharmapasha upazila), remnants of the palace of Raja Bijoy Singh (16th century, Tahirpur upazila).
source - banglapedia