Pirojpur District Information
Pirojpur district was established in 1984. It consists of three municipalities, 6 upazilas, 51 union parshads, 399 mouzas and 645 villages, 27 wards and 54 mahallas.
Area: 1307.61 square kilometers
Bounded by: Gopalganj and Barisal districts on the north, Barguna district on the south, Jhalokati district on the east, Bagerhat district on the west
History: Pirojpur is said to have been named after Zamindar Firoj Shah. Peasant rebellion was held in 1757 at Sankhali of Bhandaria upazila.
Archeology: Kumarkhali Kali Mandir, Rayerkati Zamindarbari and Shiva Mandir, two domed mosque (Nesarabad), remnants of Kaurikhara Zamindarbari.
source - banglapedia