Gopalganj District Information
Gopalganj district was established in 1984. Earlier it was a subdivision under Faridpur district. It consists of 5 upazilas, 4 municipalities, 36 wards, 68 union parishads, 618 mouzas, 880 villages and 85 mahallas.
Area: 1489.92 square kilometers
Bounded by: Faridpur district on the north, Pirojpur and Bagerhat districts on the south, Madaripur and Barisal districts on the east, Narail district on the west
History: A battle between Babur (emperor of the Mughal) and Nusrat Shah (sultan of Bengal) was held on the bank of the Ghargara (presently the Ghagar). fakir-sannyasi resistance was held in the region during the early part of the British rule. Dhirendra Nath Bishwas of Kotalipara was killed in anti British movement. Mahananda Bishwas of Jalilpar was killed during the mass upsurge of 1969.
source - banglapedia