Bandarban District Information
Bandarban district was established in 1983. It consists of 7 upazilas, 32 unions, 140 mouzas, 1482 villages, 1 municipality, 10 wards and 62 mahallas.
Area: 4479 square kilometers
Bounded by: Rangamati district on the north, Arakan (Myanmar) and the river naf on the south, Arakan and Rangamati district on the east and Chittagong and Cox's Bazar district on the west
History: The British rulers declared Bandarban as a forest zone because of its vast forest area devoid of human settlement. The Arakanese were permanently settled in Bandarban after the British ascendancy in Arakan.
source - banglapedia