Patuakhali District Information
Patuakhali, a subdivision of the then Bakerganj district, was elevated to a district in 1969. It consists of 6 upazilas, 3 municipalties, 27 wards, 61 mahallas, 67 union parishads, 566 mouzas and 882 villages.
Bounded by: Barisal district on the north, the Bay of Bengal on the south, Bhola district on the east, Barguna district on the west
History: The area constituting Patuakhali district had been included within the ancient kingdom of chandradvipa. Kachua under Baufal upazila had once been the capital of the kingdom. Due to natural calamities on the coastal areas and the frequent Partuguese and Magh raids the capital was transferred to Madhabpasha in Barisal. Raja Todarmal, Revenue minister of Emperor akbar, sent a kanungo Jimmak Khan to Chandradvipa in 1599 to survey the area. The forest area of Chandradvipa was separated from Chandradvipa and marked as 'bazuha` or protected region. Three parganas such as Selimabad, Buzurg Umedpur and Aurangpur were then constituted in this region. In the last quarter of the eighteenth century huge number of Buddhist Rakhains of Arakan escaped the atrocities of the Burmese king to this district and settled at Rangabali Island of Galachipa upazila, Khepupara and Kuakata in Kalapara upazila. Since then human settlement began to grow in this region.
Archeology: Sutabaria Dayamayee Mandir (1208 BS), Gurinda Masjid at Ratandi, Sreerampur Mian Bari Mosque, Talukdar Bari Jami Mosque (Dashmina), Betagi Sikdaria Jami Mosque, Dighi of Kaviray-bari (Dashmina), Kuakata Buddist Vihara, Kapradanga Buddhist Math, Mistri-para Buddist Vihara (Kalapara), Mosque of Ghaseti Begum (1757) at village Shaula, Pakdal Mian Bari Masjid, Bauphal Central Kalibari Mandir (1875), Kachari (revenue office) of Rajendra Mahendra Babu and of Som at Daspara in Bauphal, Tomb of Syed Arefin at Kalisuri, Ashram of Mahendra Pagla, Dargah of Tamir at Kalaya, Mitha Pukur (pond) at Daspara, Kanai Balai dighi, Kamala Rani dighi at Kachua, Mosque of Munshi Amirullah, holy bathing place at Ponahura, Tomb of Sultan Fakir at Baufal, Dol Samudra dighi, Blackhole at Sikdar house of Madanpura, Rajapur wall and the grave of the horse and groom, Nurainpur Rajbari, Shahi Mosque at Masjidbaria of Mirzaganj.
source - banglapedia