Narail District Information
Narail district was established in 1984. It consists of 2 municipalities, 18 wards, 43 mahallas, 3 upazilas, 37 union parishads, 445 mouzas and 649 villages.
Area: 990.23 square kilometers
Bounded by: Magura district on the north, Khulna district on the south, Faridpur and Gopalganj districts on the east, Jessore district on the west
History: Indigo Revolt was organised in this district during 1859-60; in 1946 Tebhaga movement was held in the district. Narail district was liberated on 10 December 1971.
Archeology: Mosque at Village Goalbathan (1654), Kadamtala Mosque, Ghazir Dargah at Naldi, homestead of Raja Keshab Roy at Wazirpur, Radha Govinda Mandir at Jorbangla (eighteenth century), Kalibari at Lakshmipasha, Math at Baradia of Nihinathtala.
source - banglapedia