Joypurhat District Information
Joypurhat was the only subdivision of the erstwhile Bogra district, and since 1984 it has been turned into a district. The district consists of 3 municipalities, 27 wards, 5 upazilas, 32 union parishads, 719 mouzas, 74 mahallas and 898 villages.
Area: 965.44 square kilometers
Bounded by: Dinajpur district on the north, Naogaon districts on the south, Bogra and Gaibandha districts on the east, Bogra and Naogaon districts and Indian province of west bengal on the west
History: During the anti-British Swadeshi Movement there was an abortive bomb attack on a train under the leadership of Comrade Abdul Kader Chowdhury and Mihir Mukherjee, the former was later captured and deported to the Andaman.
Archeology: Remains of the palace of Raja Jaygopal, the Garuda Pillar at Bhimer Panti, Dargah of Nimai Pir.
source - banglapedia